News News News! New Name and Found Poetry Online

Hey, Fickle Readers! Believe it or not, I got sick again this week, hence the lack of posts. I’ve been trying to save up all my news to post in one big info dump. Usually this is easier to do when mental energy is low and words and ideas get caught in my brain like wads of hair in a bathtub. Anyway, without further ado:

My blog has a brand-spanking-new title: Miss Fickle Reader’s Backwater Domain! I feel this new moniker has a bit more bite, and it has a pun in it, too. (Domain, you know. Domain = kingdom, and also web site stuff. Get it?) Mighty Tiny Bill would be proud.

“Thou’rt as monumental as buzzard urine.”

Second thing to report: This month, I’m officially a Poetry Month Scout in Found Poetry Review‘s National Poetry Month project. (Say that three times fast!) I have to say, I was a little trepidatious about doing this–I haven’t been working at poetry very much recently, and it’s always nerve-wracking to post spur-of-the-moment pieces. Kinda like leaving photocopies of your naked butt at random intersections in your hometown. But so far, it’s been pretty engaging. The FPR people have links to a lot of cool internet tools to get your creative mind spinning. My fave so far is this random username generator, which you can set to Shakespeare as well as emotions, body parts, and (my preference) just plain random.

In the interest of really hanging my nude ass out the window, I’ll be posting the links to my found poems here all this month. Here are the first two:

Narcissism x3. This was generated using three haiku (or maybe they were technically senryu–I’m not up on my Japanese terminology) by Shiki and put through the Haiku Discombobulator.  I think I may have boffed this one up a bit. Other scouts got lovely results, whereas mine were mostly mixtures of prepositions and conjunctions. Ah, well.

Vulgar Ballads. I was much happier with how this one turned out. The assignment was to take a phrase from the random username generator (or make up your own), plug it into Google, collect words from the descriptions that Google spits out, and write a poem from that. I quickly dumped “zip death” (too clinical and depressing) and “liquid thunder” (apparently a form of explosive diarrhea) and eventually went with “bawdy weeping.” Surprisingly enough, there’s a lot of overlap between “bawdy” and “weeping.” Much of that overlap is even old-school literary or–gasp!–Shakespearean. So I had a lot of fun with this exercise. Also, it may have loosened me up for writing sex stuff. Enjoy!

6 responses to “News News News! New Name and Found Poetry Online

  1. I like
    “A short day…
    A day into my night,
    me! me again.”

    I haven’t written the poem yet but got my word combo and word bank from “acceptable failure”. Looks like you were able to put yours to good use. Very bawdy. 😛

    • Thanks so much!! Good to meet you today. As for bawdiness–yeah, I’m secretly all about that. You can’t really be into literature way back then and not pick up on the sex stuff. It’s universal.
      “Acceptable failure”…sounds promising. Not sure I could handle working with that material, though. I’m too apt to depress myself. Good luck with it! I really enjoyed the randomness of the whole thing.

      • You’re welcome. You too! Haha yeah. That is true. It was even in Shakespeare.

        Yeah you would think but unfortunately I had to go through about 10 pages of results because so many were from schools saying things like “academic dishonesty is not acceptable and is grounds for failure…” I wrote down a lot though so hopefully I can turn it into something. Thanks. The randomness is fun.

      • Wow…academic dishonesty. Haven’t thought about that in a few years. If you’re into author influence and plagiarism, you could work that into a nice little piece. Just my 2 cents, though. 🙂

  2. Ah, where would we be without the bawdy bits? Love your poetry; the ending lines grab ones attention.
    Love the new name too. But then again I am sucker for puns.

Leave a Reply

