Good Writing Break: Laura Maylene Walter

A girl walks into a book of fairy tales and is eaten by the wolf in fifteen different ways.

 

Having just worked on an interview with Laura, I can tell you she’s a writer after my own heart: by turns quirky and humble and visionary and powerful. Not many writers enter an MFA program with a prize-winning short story collection already sparkling on their CVs. This might have had me tangled in Envy Snarls at one point in my life, but I really can’t get all up at arms when I know I couldn’t go into a writing workshop and come out with a piece nearly as good as “A Girl Walks into a Page,” which just came out in Smokelong Quarterly. Bravo, Laura! Best Envy with a shot of tequila!

 

Leave a Reply

