Toto’s “Africa,” Hemingway-ized

Okay, this isn’t knock-me-over-with-a-wow! kind of piece, but it is fun.  One of my favorite cheesy 80s white-guy songs is “Africa.”  It’s fun to rock out to when you’re driving somewhere, especially in the rain.  (Also, somewhere in my mother’s house, I have a vinyl version of the Toto LP on which “Africa” appears.  I think I bought it when I was 9 or 10.)

Anthony Sams, “Toto’s ‘Africa’ by Ernest Hemingway”

Sams doesn’t manage to make sense of the lines “Gonna take some time / To do the things we never had” any more than Toto did.  But maybe you’d lose the whole song in the process of cleaning up the gibberish, terrible rhymes, and goofy, culturally tone-deaf imagery?

(Sure as Kilimanjaro rises like Olympus above the Serengeti?)

Leave a Reply

