On Rejection: Can I Just Say I Love Dinty W. Moore?

I know I’ve said this over and over and over again–so many times, in fact, that I’m sure some of you fickle readers out there think I’m on the payroll of Brevity, the online magazine of brief creative nonfiction that Moore edits.  I can assure you I’m in no way affiliated with this fine journal, nor have I ever been brave enough to submit anything, although someday I’m determined to begin a long, distinguished record of Brevity rejections.

But this isn’t about me.  This is about the plum awesomeness that is writer, editor, and human being extraordinaire Dinty W. Moore.  I was catching up on the Brevity blog tonight and discovered this post about a kerfluffle that developed when Triquarterly unwisely sent out a rejection letter claiming they did not review the rejected submission.  (As far as I can tell, what really happened was that Triquarterly was unable to review a giant backlog of submissions, but that intended message was lost in poor wording.)  Moore comments on Triquarterly’s breach of etiquette, and then adds a bio to his post that says:

Dinty W. Moore is editor of Brevity, and has been for 18 long years.  Some days his eyeballs feel as if they’ve been punched. Full disclosure: He has published work, both print and video, in TriQuarterly.  He has also been rejected by them, and by many other fine journals.

I love this bio.  Can’t we writers all say we’ve been rejected by “many other fine journals”?  Don’t those passes from major magazines forever sit in a Vault of Shame in the back of our minds, even as we write up the short list of our publishing victories? Thanks, Dinty, for your humility and for reminding us (because many of us out here, such as me, always need reminding) that writers everywhere, including those who are Known and Widely Published, get rejections.  To paraphrase my son’s kindergarten teacher: That’s just writin’.

2 responses to “On Rejection: Can I Just Say I Love Dinty W. Moore?

  1. I love Dinty Moore’s writing, and I love Brevity. I was actually brave enough a few months ago to submit a short piece that I wrote specifically for the publication. I was in fact rejected, but it was a personal note from Dinty himself. (How about that?) I haven’t actually done anything with that piece since then; it would seem odd to send it somewhere else when I wrote it for Dinty.

    • Hmm…I don’t know. It seems a shame to chuck the whole piece after one rejection, even if it was from the publication you crafted it for. (Also, the fact that you got a note from Dinty himself is an EXCELLENT sign. Editors don’t write notes to everyone. Your piece must have made it through several phases of cuts.) Also, my feeling is that there are a lot of publications out there these days that are taking short nonfiction pieces. I know River Teeth has a whole short-nonfic blog called “Beautiful Things.” There’s also a list, compiled by a Brevity blog contributor, of venues for short nonfiction (link is here: http://brevity.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/flashcnfmarkets.pdf). So don’t give up! Be persistent!! Send out to more places and see what happens. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

