Another Good Writing Break: Science Fiction Nonfiction

This essay…words fail me.

Will Kaufman, “The Future is the Motherfucking Future

Combines science fiction, technology, meditations on love, and memories of a dying father.  Also dovetails with a lot of stuff I’ve been thinking about: women as objects, violence, the place of the marginalized in spec lit (where’s Africa in science fiction tales of yore?).  And yeah, Kaufman looks younger than me, and he already has a sophisticated voice and an innovative narrative style.

I think I’m going to go beat my head against the wall now.

Before I chastise myself for being ordinary, I’d like to say: Dear editors of Sundog Lit, I’ve never heard of your publication before today, but I have to say it’s pretty damn awesome.  Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

