Dr. Doofenshmirtz Does Genre!

Hey, all! So I’ve had a crazy couple of weeks, which is why I haven’t posted in a while. And as the craziness is going to continue into the near future, and as I’ve had numerous posts burbling around in my brain, I thought I’d at least get the ball rolling with something quick and fun. Behold!

 

 

For those of you who don’t have small children–or hip milennial young-adult children–this is Dr. Doofenshmirtz, purveyor of evil on the TV show “Phineas and Ferb.”  Dr. Doof has his own series of shorts on YouTube called Doofenshmirtz Daily Dirt, which my six-year-old son recently discovered.  (Yes, we let our son look for stuff on the Internet.  But he only looks for stuff that interests him, such as animals, dinosaurs, and descriptions of superhero cartoon episodes on Wikipedia.  So we know what we’re doing.  Shut up.)

This web series is weepingly funny.  The premise is:  Doof is an evil scientist, and an old guy, but he also really wants to be cool and liked by the young’uns.  So he goes online to rant about various things and start his own viral trends.  (Sorta sounds like someone I know…)  In this episode, the latest in the series, Doof discusses the latest fads in YA fiction and comes up with some unique subgenres based on famous single works of literature.

My invitation to you is: come up with one of your own!  Imagine if some classic spawned a bookstore section of copycats.  What would it be called?  Post it here!  Please!  I’m all alone out here in cyberspace, and my internet traffic has flatlined!

(Mighty Tiny Bill just sniggered at this, by the way.  Shut up, Mighty Tiny Bill.  Go back to burrowing out of your impenetrable plastic prison with your tiny, impotent pen.)

 

Leave a Reply

